Impromptu Mid-Day Vacation

Standard

At the end of the school year/beginning of summer, the boys’ daycare sent home a stack of field trip forms for us to sign.  Ranging from (multiple) visits to a nearby nursing home or the local Lowe’s to build a birdhouse, Dave and my interest was peaked by a field trip to Ohio Caverns.  Right away we knew Thing 2 would LOVE it, as he collects rocks and is very curious about what he can do when he grows up that involves rocks.  My mind gets excited thinking about the corners of the world he’ll be able to see if he pursues geography, archeology or any other fields that I’m not smart enough to know about.

Right away Dave expressed interest in accompanying the boys on their Ohio Caverns field trip, as the form clearly stated parents were invited.  Despite being radically right brained, I, too was interested, however the thought of not getting paid for half a day made me squash the thought of me going really fast.  As time went on, Dave finished his second session at school and entered his third (which he is currently in) and got bogged down with a LOT of school-work.  I’m proud of him for his dedication as well as the awesome art he is producing.  Anyway, his work-load made it doubtful that he would be able to go.

I was sitting at my desk around 8am yesterday morning, thinking about how the boys were about to go on their field trip.  I stared at my Excel spreadsheet and out of nowhere got hit with a F*** this smack.  It was as if I was taken over by the slacker sitting on my right shoulder.  After a quick (pleasant) conversation with my boss I was given permission to take a half-day, mid-day, vacation and accompany the boys.  I called Dave, told him we’re going because I’d rather spend the day with my gentlemen than think about how I should’ve later, and left work.

As written on the Ohio Caverns website,

Concealed beneath the rolling farmland and wooded countryside of Champaign County, Ohio, the caverns were formed thousands of years ago when an underground river cut through ancient limestone and created vast rooms and passageways that later filled with countless crystal stalactites, stalagmites and other amazing formations.

You can read more about the history on their website, as I want to share some of my pictures…

Ohio Caverns - 2
Ohio Caverns - 3

Leave a Reply

