The Downfall of Being Radically Right Brained

Standard

To put it simply, I think too much.  WAY too much.  My brain is constantly filled with thoughts beginning with “What if…” or “I wonder…”, as well as a handful of scenarios for each possible answer for each question.

About four years ago my brain felt very similar, however today’s circumstances are very different and much more positive.  Back then I wasn’t taking my thyroid medicine as I should have been (and am today) and my TSH (Thyroid Stimulating Hormone) levels were horribly off.  To give you an idea, my TSH levels should have been between .1 and .2.  My levels were 186.  Note that there isn’t a (.) in front of the 186.

My levels being this far off caused rapid thoughts, paranoid dillusions, and suicidal thoughts.  It was very scary for both me and my family.  Having had a hypo-active thyroid since birth, I had always been told to take my medicine, although I didn’t know why.  While not taking my medicine in 2008 was not intentional, and was just fall-out from having too much on my plate and not taking care of myself the way I should have, I should have known better.

After getting out of the hospital, I educated myself, with much help from Ridha Arem, M.D.’s book The Thyroid Solution, and my body is 100% on track.  It’s a good feeling.  But being the right-brained person that I am, my imagination still tends to go into over-drive once in a while, making me wonder “what if?” on any number of hypothetical situations.  It’s exhausting.

2 responses »

  1. I’ve been on Synthroid for 3 months now and it has totally changed my life, more energy, less depression…I thank god for it 🙂

Leave a Reply

