Watching the Time

Standard

While at work, I try desparately hard to not look at the time.  I don’t wear a watch, and my cell phone sits on my desk in silent mode until my work day is over.

But as hard as I try not to look at the time, time is constantly looking at me.  I swear, the clocks surrounding me have eyes.  They glare at me, and I feel the heat of their presence daring me to look back at them.Image

The clock on my computer gets more attention than any other.  I made it through the first two paragraphs without looking at the clock on my monitor, and then the clock on my phone grabbed me.  Damn it.  1:17pm.  2 hours and 43 minutes until sanity.  (Or…  163MTS)

I’ve owned two non-plastic watches in my (almost) 33 years.

The first, a Joe Boxer watch, was bought for me by my Aunt right before I entered college, nearly 15 years ago.  (Wow…  Time flies!)  It had a rooster that spun around, or perhaps a chicken, and I believe there was a fried egg marking the 12.  Unfortunately I couldn’t find an image when I did a search for it.

The second, a nice Kenneth Cole watch, was my Christmas present from my ex-husband 10 years ago, right before we found out we were pregnant with our first.  I still have that watch, however the extra links we took out (because at that time I had skinny wrists) are now in his possession.

Ha!  Desk-phone clock, you nearly drew me all the way in!  I was able to avert my eyes just before you had me!

Even at home Dave and I tend to look at the time more often than we probably should.  (Damn desk phone got me…  1:34…)  Anyway, we look less than we did when we had cable, but…  Why are we looking?  Yes, there reaches a point when we’re tired and we know we need to get to bed soon if we’re going to get enough rest for the next day.  But where does the obsession with time come from?  Why do we let time consume us, rather than enjoying every second for what it is?

144MTS

If anyone knows a way to turn the ability to see the clock on a PC monitor off, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

