Learning to Live Frugally #1

Standard

I have a problem.  I love to spend money.  I usually have no money, however when I get it, I always buy something I shouldn’t.

Image

Like dinner for the four of us at Chipotle.  Mmm mmm…

I decided, in my attempt to live a frugal life, that I should point out objects I see in my everyday life that people really don’t need to spend money on.  Today’s objects come from an e-Flyer I received at work.  I won’t name the company the flyer came from, and I won’t deny that the objects are cute, however each could be made for less than half the price using craft supplies found at your local JoAnn’s or Michaels.

Image

These fabric thumbtacks are being sold for $7.95 for a package of 25.  $7.95?!?!?!?  How about if you buy a package of upholstery tacks on clearance and make your own?  Together with a hot glue gun (assuming you already have one), you could MAKE your own for approximately $3 per 25 and sell them for profit on Etsy!

Image

Like the fabric thumbtacks, I know these magnet clips are ridiculously overpriced. $11.95 for a package of 4.  All I can say is WOW that anyone would imagine paying this much.  Personally, I’d rather give my boys some paint and glue and ask them to make me some Mommy Magnets.  Unlike the paper based refridgerator art that often falls off the fridge before getting trampled on or eaten by the pets, the magnets would last a lifetime.  Think about it.

Leave a Reply

